Search Site
Platinum Sponsors







Gold Sponsors




Team Greece sets it's sights for the 2009 World Championship in Pilsen, CZE!

The HBHA is proud to announce it's first official evaluation camp in preparation for the 2009 World Championship being held in Pilsen, CZE. This camp is open to players from all levels and categories interested in trying out for the National Greek Team.


Minutes and brief summary of annual ISBHF meeting held in Madrid, Spain

Madrid, Spain, one of the most beautiful cities in the world, played host to the ISBHF 2008 Annual Congress in January. The site was strategically selected to explore street hockey potential in the Iberian Region. Discussions with Portuguese inline hockey organizers, and a newly formed Spanish Street Hockey Association brings hope of a stronger presence from this southern part of Europe.

Representing Greek Ball Hockey several of our committee members, President John Kontitsis, Andrew Moshonas and Athanasios Kipopoulos attended the meeting.

The following are just a few of the important topics that were discussed in this meeting.

New committee formed with an approved Constitution, Financial Policies, and development contract with ISBHF, driven by mandate from Canadian Ball Hockey Association, as per its regulations governing foreign programs operating from Canada. This standard will be used for all other Growing Member Nations with committees based in Canada in an effort to protect the integrity of the sport, and ensure positive development in the home country of those national committees. Have contacted Greek Ice Hockey and Inline Hockey directors to build a relationship to foster grass roots development in Greece.

New Committee and website : (HBHA) Hellenic Ball Hockey Association -

1. ISBHF Board of Directors Elections

Total of 18 votes were eligible. First ballot results:

(# of votes - representative name)
18 - Domenico Di Gironimo
14 - Thomas Melcher
12 - Christoph Curchod
11 - Jaroslav Melisek
11 - John Kontitsis
10 - Tony Iannitto
8 - Vit Rezav
6 - Martin Kirsch

Six candidates achieved minimum majority however John Kontitsis withdrew from the elected board, citing his lack of experience. This in turn promoted Mr. Tony Iannitto to fill the final elected position.

Domenico Di Gironimo was re-elected as President of ISBHF for a 2-year term by the newly elected Board of Directors.

NOTE: Congratulations to John Kontitsis for being elected on the Board of Directors, it was a real honour for him. However he felt that the timing of this honor bestowed upon him was not right due to a lack of knowledge on the functions of an elected ISBHF board member. As well, he judged that it would best, for the ISBHF and HBHA, to devote 100% of his time and energy to develop a strong foundation towards a successful and new Hellenic Ball Hockey program.


Page 1 ... 92 93 94 95 96